We’re Engaged!

Last night I asked Lindsay to marry me and she said ‘yes’. I never thought that such an amazing person could ever exist and that nobody else has swept her off her feet but she chose me.

Here’s how it happened; Wednesday I went to the jewler’s (my grandfather worked there for some years as a watch repair man and so I knew they would not try to pull a fast one on me or anything) in search for the ‘perfect ring’. I wanted to find a ring that I could picture Lindsay wearing and after some searching, I glanced upon one and knew that it was it.

Lindsay works not even a quarter mile from the jewler’s and passes it on her way home so I called to make sure she was still at work and when she asked where I was, I told her that I was at the grocery store (one of the many lies that was to follow).  I went to her house after I bought the ring and I took her to church – with the ring in the trunk of my car nestled safely in my sister’s Michigan State (uuuughhhhh) sweatshirt. I just hope that I didn’t jinx Michigan because it would be a pitty for them to continue loosing Rose Bowl championships one after another.

Anyway, I woke up Thursday with no idea in my mind that I would ask her that day but she came over after work and we went out to lunch/dinner (3:30pm) at CiCi’s Pizza (GREAT food, by the way). After that, she was tired and went to go lie down in my room. I told her that I needed to go to the store to pick up a suprise for her and instead, went and talked to her parents to get their permission.

An hour later, Lindsay called me and asked where I was – I told her that I had to go to a couple different stores but still couldn’t find what I was looking for. When I got back to my house, I asked her if she wanted to go to downtown Plymouth, which was where our first date was and she hesitated because it was about 25 degrees out. She finally said ‘ok’ and we walked around the ice sculptures in the downtown area (they had an ice festival last weekend and because of the tempurature, the sculptures were still there). I told her that I loved her and that I wanted to spend the rest of my life with her. Then, I got down on one knee and asked her if she would marry me. With tears in her eyes (about to freeze) she said ‘yes’.

So we’re officially engaged; we spent about 4 hours going around and showing everyone the ring and now I’m just hoping that we haven’t left anyone out.

~ by mattdb84 on January 26, 2007.

One Response to “We’re Engaged!”

  1. Hi all, here every one is sharing such know-how, thus it’s nice to read this blog,
    and I used to go to see this web site every day.

Leave a Reply

 
